Hemisphere Hostels
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.0
 Rooms  3.4
 Cleanliness  3.2
 Location  4.0
 Security & Safety  4.0
 Service & Staff  4.2
 Food / Dining  3.6
 Total  3.8

"Mark Twain Hostel"

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   Sam R. of Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewed:   March 8, 2012  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2010     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It is an insult to Mark Twain's name that this hostel is named after him. Maybe in its heyday, this hostel was nice, but it is now a fire trap and I was constantly wondering what was I breathing in when I'd pass thru the first floor. I only slept and showered there. The kitchen and bathrooms are grimy and filthy. I wonder what would happen if the Health Dept. inspected this place. I will NEVER go back and do NOT recommend it to anyone!

"Cool place to visit"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Winn T. of NYC, United States
Reviewed:   August 14, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2010     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very peaceful and quiet place. I slept very well there. Beautiful houses near by. Friendly people.

"Nice Hostel"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Zhiyong C. of Philadelpphia, United States
Reviewed:   August 15, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hostel is nice, and the manager is very kind. It is near the Mark Twain House and the Stowe House. There is a distance to downtown, however, if you take the bus 0f 66,64, or 66f, it is very easy to get to central city.

"They should clean the air and use some perfumed detergent.."

User Rating:  2.8
Reviewer:   Yaman G. of Venice, Italy
Reviewed:   August 6, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed at Mark Twain Hostel for 3 nights. The location is fairly good (15-20 min to downtown by bus) and the staff is really nice and helpful. Near the hostel there are many good places for dining, too. My single room and the shared restroom where clean, but they did not smell like any detergent.. everything in Mark Twain Hostel smells like old stuff, and the air is humid and difficult to breath. I think they should clean the air and use some perfumed detergent..

"Friendly"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Brad A. of Hartford, CT, United States
Reviewed:   July 2, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Good value for money. Friendly oriental owners. Close to bus line and shops. Good security.


1 - 5 of 5 reviews




HemisphereHostels Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us